Brain Scans


The APPNA DMV Chapter is a non-profit organization whose members are Physicians that are residents of the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia. They and their families endeavour to contribute to the well-being of the community through their scientific, medical, cultural and philanthropic actions. APPNA is a national organization with chapters in many states.


APPNA DMV has established a community health clinic for those in need of medical care. The clinic provides medical and dental services free of cost to all patients, irrespective of race, gender, nationality, religion, or insurance status.


APPNA DMV members serve in various community organizations, free clinics and collaborate with national and international organizations on projects impacting the wellbeing of the community locally, nationally and internationally. Below are a few objectives of our chapter. 

  • To support medical education and research

  • To form a peer group for support and career development of physicians of Pakistani origin in the DMV

  • To facilitate better understanding and relations amongst Pakistani physicians/community and people of the DMV 

  • To institute mechanisms for cooperation with other medical organizations in the DMV

  • To help in the orientation and adjustment of medical students and medical school graduates from Pakistan entering the US medical system in the DMV by a variety of manners, including the development of a mentoring program

  • To cooperate with medical schools and hospitals in Pakistan in ongoing continuing medical education by arranging lecture tours, conferences and workshops

  • To participate in medical relief and other charitable activities both in Pakistan and in North America

  • To advocate for political issues affecting our profession and human rights

  • To expose our youth to the political system as well as involve them in charitable work and other activities

  • To promote creative endeavours in our community

  • To arrange social events in the local community to improve awareness in our younger generation

Some Moments From Our Events

Meet The Team


Dr. Nadra Nasir Khan

President APPNA DMV

A graduate of the Allama Iqbal Medical College Class of 1983, Dr. Nadra Nasir Khan worked in Pakistan before moving to the US in 1997. She is board-certified in Hospital Medicine and is a fellow of the American College of Physicians. She currently works as a hospitalist physician at Anne Arundel Medical Center in Annapolis. She has been actively involved with the Association of Pakistani Physicians in North America (APPNA) and has served as a Treasurer for APPNA DMV. She has always been interested in philanthropic activities and has been involved in fundraising for Shaukat Khanum Memorial Trust (SKMT) and the Human Development Foundation (HDF) in the USA. She has been passionate about making a difference in the lives of underserved communities in Pakistan and the USA.

Executive Council 


Dr. Tariq Mahmood

Executive Director 

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-06 at 11.23.02 PM

Dr. Irfan Saeed



Dr. Irfan Suleman


WhatsApp Image 2020-06-11 at 5.58.09 PM.

Dr. Samia Piracha

Immediate Past President

Samia Piracha, MD is a board-certified radiologist and partner at Fairfax Radiology Consultants. She specializes in women’s imaging and has been practicing in Northern Virginia and Maryland since 2006. Originally, Dr Piracha is from West Virginia and trained at the University of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania. In the past, she has served as APPNA DMV's Treasurer and Secretary and has been on multiple APPNA National committees. Dr Piracha's goal is to use the APPNA DMV platform to serve the community’s needs. She resides in Vienna, VA with her 3 children and husband and enjoys fitness and nutrition as well as travelling with her family.

Current Board of Directors

  • Dr. M. Choudry

  • Dr. Zahid Butt

  • Dr. H. Peracha

  • Dr. M. Akbar

  • Dr. Sohail Qarni


  • Dr. Atiya Khan

  • Dr. Tayyib Rana


District of Columbia

  • Dr. Farooq Mohyuddhin


  • Dr. Sara Zeb

  • Dr. Ahmed Nawaz

  • Dr. Ammar Javed

  • Dr Mansoor Mohiuddin


  • Dr. Zubair Niazi

  • Dr. Yusuf Khan

  • Dr Rashid Nayer

  • Dr. Reema Chaudri


Social Welfare  

  • Dr. Asima Cheema (Chair)

  • Dr. Javed Akhter (Co-Chair)

  • Dr. Attiya Khan

  • Dr. Ahmed Nawaz

  • Dr. Rashid Latif

  • Dr. Ammar Ahmed

  • Dr Tazeen Rehman

  • Dr. Naheed Saleem

  • Dr. Tahir Sheikh

  • Dr. Tayyib Rana - COVD-19 Task Force Chair

  • Dr. Habib Chotani

  • Dr. Samia Piracha

  • Dr. Tariq Mahmood

  • Dr. Irfan Suleman

  • Dr. Irfan Saeed

  • Dr. Nadra Khan

 Ethics and Grievance  

  • Dr. Mohammad Akbar (Chair)

  • Dr. Abdul Rashid Piracha

  • Dr. Tayyib Rana

  • Dr. Nisar Chaudhry

Research and Scientific  

  • Dr. Farooq Mohiuddin (Chair)

  • Dr. Mansoor Mohiuddin 

  • Dr. Tariq Shahab 

  • Dr. Irfan Suleman

  • Dr. Asima Cheema

  • Dr. Nadra Khan

  • Dr. Mohammad Taimoor Khan

  • Dr. Ammar Javaid

Nomination and Election  

  • Dr. Mohammed Akbar (Chair)

  • Dr. Mubashar Choudry


  • Dr. Irfan Saeed (Chair)

  • Dr. Zubair Niazi

  • Dr. Kanza Aziz

  • Dr. Huma Shakil

  • Dr. Nadra Khan


  • Dr. Ashraf Sabahat (Chair)

  • Dr. Irfan Saeed

  • Dr. Irfan Rizvi

  • Dr. Talha Siddiqu


  • Dr. Abdul Rashid Piracha (Chair)

  • Dr. Tayyib Rana

  • Dr. Ahmed Nawaz

  • Dr. Samia Piracha


  • Dr. Tariq Mahmood (Chair)

  • Dr. Irfan Suleman

  • Dr. Ammar Javaid

  • Dr. Nadra Khan

  • Mr. Ali Salar Khawaja  


Thanks for submitting!

  • Black Facebook Icon